Skills

{I am republishing this post for today’s date so it can be found more easily to fit with the next posts I plan on doing}

I’ve been sitting here thinking about all the different skills I would like to have that will further help us with our love of sustainability. I have crochet down, working on my knitting along with sewing. Drying herbs is easy, food preserving is my next goal and growing herbs. I’d actually like to forage for medicinal plants and such that see local to the area… Anyway let’s move on…

Here is a list of ideas for those of you who want to incorporate homestead skills in the urban setting:

Crochet or knitting- nothing beats making your own hats, scarves, gloves, and whatever else you think you can whip up using this skill. While you can just go out and buy hats it’s better to make yourself using sustainable yarn- think organic- I also prefer wool- it’s warm-it lasts. It’s a skill you can barter with if something happens where you would need to. 

Sewing- you don’t need to make haute couture. But it’s nice to be able to sew on  button or fix clothes you always have. You can upcycle old clothing into a variety of things ( yarn included). I used a few old shirts to make some dresses for the munchkin. Old jeans can be turned into a skirt, etc. I suggest having hand and machine sewing skills. 

Canning, cooking, baking, persevering, gardening, livestock-honestly don’t these all fit together? Having a garden can offset your grocery bill. If you can have backyard chickens go for it- fresh eggs. And if you’re not a vegan/ vegetarian raising rabbits for meat is a cheap way to supplement your meat bill. Quail are also an option.  There’s so much a person can do. We bake our own bread, have a garden, chickens, and looking to get meat rabbits going. We also wouldn’t mind hunting and fishing. 

I suggest also learning how to cook with different methods. Dutch ovens, solar, fire, you name it! Have some fun with it. I love campfire cooking. 

There’s also drying herbs, jerky, smoking meat, drying out veggies for food storage, canning, fermenting. 

Woodworking, handyman & vehicle repair skills- I’m blessed with the most amazing husband. We had a deep clog in our kitchen sink. His skills enabled us to unclog it ourselves and not have to pay a plumber. He knows basic electrical, plumbing, can build just about anything and takes care of maintenance on our vehicles. It saves a lot of money. He also is the type of husband to pull me into the whole process and has me do half the work. Which I thoroughly enjoy! 

Again I’m so blessed, my hubs rocks! Sorry gotta gush there just a bit again. That’s one of the major keys to making an urban “homestead” work. I can’t say we are fully that but we try to come close because we dream of owning farm land someday. Okay back to that key business. Working as a team, sharing the work, doing the work together, and so on. 

We are gathering up such skills in order to have our farm/ homestead one day. That’s our ultimate goal really. We may be in a urban setting but there’s plenty we can do for the future. 

-Alexis 

P.S There are many more skills I could have mentioned for me these seemed to be the first few to consider as most important in the urban setting. 

Leave a Reply

