You know what I hate…

When you attend an FRG meeting and the command pushes some hardcore morale on the soldiers and their spouses- when most of us are thinking ” YEAH! SCREW YOU!” Now hear me out. I don’t often post things of a negative nature. But I found this so contradictory… FRG meeting- ice cream social- yes it was nice- I mean come on- ICE CREAM- but the fact they act like the spouses are any sorts of happy about the training is irritating.  It isn’t any sort of training that will happen six months from now or whatnot, it’s be recurring and absolutely daunting. 3 weeks out, 3 weeks home and then back out sort of deal.Words can’t express the stress. Not only this- we’ve had some accidents in other companies- even death- leaves me a bit on edge.

Background- this is a new battalion- it’s suppose to take ‘years’ to set up a new one- the army wants it done in 15 months. THANKS for that jerks. I haven’t talked to one person yet that was thrilled about this. What’s worse is if I am super upset by all this crazy and the many side jobs they’ve given my husband. How do these soldiers feel day in and day out? How is there any sort of respect for the chain of command? And I know I am not the only spouse scratching their and dealing with a lot of stress. I guess what gets me the most is how family friendly they pretend to be. This sort of training is beyond family friendly, and then what’s next- yep- deployment- gruel us hard with the training- and the rip our loved one away- can’t say I’ll be thrilled when this happens.

Sometimes the military life leaves me exhausted. I ask ” are we done with this yet?” and the answer is always uncertainty. You get use to the life, moving every three years, making new friends, but the year I was in Missouri, I fell in love with the place and the people. It killed me to leave. But with his current contract and when it ends- leaves us 8 more years and he will be done- get out- or stay in till retirement. Here in a few years maybe the decision will be more clear. Maybe things will wind down and I won’t be so bitter as I am right now… who knows… we’ll see…

Leave a Reply

