Long Time…

No see.. ( write)

So much to write about. We had a pretty smooth dity move in the way of packing and traveling.We packed our uhaul with the help of family. So thankful for all of their help. They are the best! We left for Colorado on a weekend and then stayed with friends. Again gratitude for the people in our lives. It cut down our PCS costs for sure. We closed on our house early and moved in.

But then the worst thing imaginable happened we moved in on a Friday night the last bit of February and then Sunday evening we had a house fire! It was scary, disheartening, and just downright awful. I’ve had a lot of trials in life but this one has shaken me up really bad. I sat there watching our new home burn and it seemed so surreal.

We were/ are lucky that a good samaritan was driving by and suspected something when when he saw too much smoke from our chimney and then saw a glow. He rang our doorbell and pounded on the door.

Without this person and two sweet ladies who were with him the fire could have been a lot worse! He helped us get our animals out, getting us all to safety. The two women helped with the animals and our neighbors across the way offered me a place to sit as the fire department put the flames to rest.

My neighbor also offered me her shoes and a jacket. It was cold and I had gone outside with no shoes or jacket. Of course I didn’t have time to grab such. I cared more about my precious little fur kids. I’m so glad I was able to grab the gerbils, Chocolat, and Lils. Cats as we know it often don’t jut come right away when they are called but Lils sure did and she let me hold her without fuss even when I was pulling Chocolat’s cage across the ground.

Thankfully it was made easier by our good samaritan ( wishing I could see this person again I don’t know his name) and we got rabbit and cat outside. Nothing can ever prepare you for a house fire. At least emotionally… I’m still a wreck on the inside, but I keep reminding myself that while our house may need repairs we are truly blessed. We are lucky that the a total stranger knocked on our door warning us, helping us, we are blessed to have neighbors who care, and we are blessed that people helped and saved our home.

We ended up with just mostly damage to house upstairs and smoke damage since we had barely moved in we hadn’t unpacked all of our boxes and totes. I prayed that my school supplies would be intact and they were even with the fire really damaging the room right next to the one I deemed my office/ school space.

I owe it all to these people from the stranger, to our neighbors, the fire department, police officers, and EMTs( they continuously checked on me). Without people who knows what could have happened to us and our home.
Counting the blessing among the heartache has really helped me stay positive. I will admit I’ve had moments of tears and sobbing.

When you find your home, yours and suddenly it’s not livable space you hurt. Thankfully we also have insurance that has helped us with getting a rental place that is right down the street from our house, just a walk away. And rental furniture, etc.

It’s truly been harrowing. What really breaks my heart is the fact that my husband has experienced this twice. When he was teenage they had a house fire and lost it all. The look on my husbands face that night is indescribable. He showed so much strength during it despite the situation.

Anyway, I feel like I’m rambling on and on. When I get the chance I’m going to blog some more on PCSing. It’s funny I can give advice on renting a place, living on base, or buying your own home( that’s a process). Either way I love to try to help other military spouses out there where I can.

PCSing is not easy, we will do it many times, leaving new friends, a place we began to call home. Luckily we get to cherish the memories of each place we have been. We get to keep those friendships even with the distance between them. We get new adventures and strength from being who we are and juggling our lives as military spouses.

See y’all next time

The VP clan

Leave a Reply

