Plus Size Shopping Nightmare-ish

The day before yesterday marked a few hours at the mall while the fur children were at the groomers. First stop was soup and salad for lunch then we made our way to the mall.

I was a bit miffed that so many stores in Colorado Springs lacked good plus sizes. I almost wanted to scream! I’m fashionable heck I’m going to school for fashion design for heaven’s sake!

I slowly became disheartened when some of the clothing I had bought last year in some stores were now smaller pushing me out of the store and on the hunt.

I finally gave up and made my way to Lane Bryant for a bra fix. I like some of their clothing not all and a bra sale why HELLO! Right up my alley. It’s the only store worth buying bras at in my opinion- especially for my size 38DDD ( for the most part I have gone up to 38F) anyway new undergarments made my day a little better.

Anyway moving on. Yesterday we decided to go to JCPenny- it was similar to other stores I had to dig to find a XL or XXL that worked for me. I grabbed a pair of the new sketchers with the memory foam ( oh so comfy) and my husband bought a suit for church.

Real quick before I move on. So get this I was in the women’s section and only managed two shirts and a blazer that fit. Most of the junior sizes were better fits!?!?!?! Totally baffling! So I ended up grabbing something from there to go with my maxi skirt for church today.

Anyway then it was a trip to Target, which with my vertically challenged self the XL and XXL sizes always work for my upper body. But it seems recently that some of it is smaller again forcing me out of their store when it comes to clothing.

It’s a sad sad day when I feel like I have to go to Walmart for pants! I mean seriously come on!?!?!? Anyway Target ended up being exercise attire ( the only stuff that fit) and shoes.

I seriously wanted to start a revolution though. I’m sick of seeing cute clothing and being pushed away from even wearing it. It’s like the clothing companies are basically saying your fat and we don’t want you wearing our clothes. Especially when just a year ago I had purchased clothing at Target that was either XL or XXL.

I suppose this is why I’m in fashion school. I want to cater to all women no matter the size. I don’t know what the issue is though. It’s like Colorado Springs in general is lacking in the plus size department.

So what now do I need to lose weight ( which is hard for this girl I have underlying REAL issues like a whacked out thyroid that never makes up it’s mind, endometriosis that messes with my hormones and a lower back injury that leaves me being delicate in the exercise department for the moment).

But do I really have to have this pressure? It’s unhealthy I wanted to cry due to having to rummage and rummage some more to just find something that fit and something I liked. It made me feel terrible really.

I usually feel pretty good about myself, after all I might be a size 18 but I can work hard. I worked on a farm lifting 50 pound feed bags, cut the grass on seven acres, took care of the animals, fixed the fences put new fences in, farm work- hard labor- worked out in the sun for hours,etc- you get the idea I never felt “fat” but these last two shopping experiences sure made me feel that way!

It was awful! According to several of my average sized friends it’s not just my size it’s theirs also. Women should start revolting! We shouldn’t be pushed to bigger sizes and feel like heck after the experience!

I love shopping ( almost past tense I might add) I don’t think changes to clothing size is really going to help with the customer base. That’s just me though. I’m the type of person that will let someone know what I don’t like too. So I see future letters to places that sizes have changed.

I can easily tell all my plus size girlies to go elsewhere period. Revolution here I come!

Leave a Reply

